Making Democracy Work


For Town and Village Courts, see individual listings. The information below lists: Name, When Term Ends, and Phone.

CITY COURTS City Court Judges - 10 YEAR TERMS

  • Matthew Sypniewski, term ends 2021, 453-6989
  • Guido Loyola, term ends 2022, 453-6989
  • Mark W. Blanchfield, term ends 2020, 453-6989

  • County Court Judge Karen A. Drago, term ends 2014, 285-8429
  • Family Court Judge Mark L. Powers, term ends 2021, 285-8435
  • Family Court Judge Kevin A. Burke, term ends 2023, 285-8755
  • Surrogate Court Judge Vincent W. Versaci, term ends 2020, 285-8455

  • District Attorney Robert M. Carney, term ends 2017, 388-4364
  • Public Defender Mark J. Caruso, 388-4331
  • Family Ct. Support Magistrate Colleen Quirion, 285-8435
  • Family Ct. Support Magistrate Kathleen J. Jennings, 285-8435
  • Director of Probation Joseph Mancini, 388-4553
  • Commissioner of Jurors Hope Splittgerber, 285-8516
  • Chief Clerk of Supreme Court Mary Adams, 285-8401


Statewide offices, filled when vacancies occur. Term is 14 years or until 70 years of age. (May be certified for continued service at the end of the year in which they reach 70.) Schenectady is one of the eleven counties in the fourth Judicial District.

  • Robert J. Chauvin, Saratoga County, 2025
  • David B. Krogmann Warren County, term ends 2017
  • David R. Demarest St. Lawrence County, term ends 2021
  • Ann C. Crowell, Saratoga County, 2025
  • Thomas D. Nolan, Jr., Saratoga County, term ends 2027
  • Vito C. Caruso, Adm. Judge, Schenectady County, term ends 2019
  • Robert Muller, Essex County, term ends 2023
  • Thomas Buchanan, Schenectady County, term ends 2026
  • John T. Ellis, Franklin County, term ends 2026
  • Joseph M. Sise, Montgomery County, term ends 2026

For further information, call the Clerk of the Supreme Court, Schenectady - 285-5060 or Administrative Office 4th District - 285-5060.


  • Karen Kaye Peters, Presiding Justice, Ulster County, term ends 2020
  • Robert S. Rose, Broome County, term ends 2015
  • John A. Lahtinen, Clinton, term ends 2016
  • William McCarthy, Albany County, term ends 2018
  • Elizabeth Garry, Chenango County, term ends 2020
  • John Egan, Albany County, term ends 2019
  • Leslie E. Stein, Albany County, term ends 2015
  • Christine Clark, Schenectady County, term ends 2026
  • Eugene Devine, Albany County
  • Michael C. Lynch, Albany County

Court Clerk Appellate Division 471-4777. For further information about courts, call the New York State Office of Court Administration, Albany, phone 474-1038.

COURT OF APPEALS Statewide offices, appointed by the Governor from persons found well qualified by a judicial nominating commission. May be certified for continued service on the Supreme Court.

  • Chief Judge Jonathan Lippman (NYC), term ends 2015
  • Associate Judges:
  • Susan Phillips Read (Albany), term ends 2017
  • Eugene F. Pigott, Jr. (Buffalo), term ends 2016
  • Victoria A. Graffeo (Albany), term ends 2014
  • Robert S. Smith (NYC), term ends 2014
  • Jenny Rivera (NYC), term ends 2027
  • Sheila Abdus-Salaam (NYC), term ends 2022

Office of the Clerk, Court of Appeals, 455-7700